icon facebook icon youtube

Call us at

ISO and IATF: Time is Now for New Certification

As of September 2015, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) revised the quality management standards outlined in ISO 9001:2009. These standards impact businesses of all sizes, in all industries, all over the world, and over 1 million businesses and organizations across over 170 countries are currently certified to ISO 9001. These changes accompany revisions to the ISO/TS 16949:2009, now the IATF 16949:2016, the international quality management standard for automotive parts and service suppliers. Bopp Busch is currently certified under ISO/TS 16949:2009 and is shifting processes and quality management tools to meet certification requirements of the new IATF 16949:2016, which also requires compliance with the new ISO 9001:2015.

IATF 16949 is no longer considered an ISO standard, however it is based on the new ISO 9001:2015 changes. The International Automotive Task Force developed quality management system changes specifically for OEMs in the automotive sector to help bring the industry to one accepted standard. Both the ISO 9001:2015 and IATF 26949:2016 revisions means changes for businesses seeking ongoing certification, like Bopp Busch. Both ISO 9001:2015 and IATF 16949:2016 are less revolutionary and more evolutionary steps bringing the standards up-to-date to best utilize available technology. The new standards change the approach of some aspects of quality standardization, such as documentation and industry-specific requirements, and change the overall thought process behind quality management.

Major changes include the following:

  1. ISO 9001:2015 and IATF 16949:2016 now uses a High-Level Structure system, the same used by other standardization processes such as environmental standardization or sustainability standardization. This allows businesses to approach any obstacle using the same system, and allows easier integration with other quality management systems.
  2. Instead of placing specific requirements on certain processes and industries, ISO 9001:2015 and IATF 16949:2016 shift the approach used to minimize problems. ISO 9001:2015 outlines implementation for “risk-based thinking” in quality management systems. Business leaders are given general tools for risk assessment and management that they may apply to specific risks or obstacles faced in their business or industry. IATF 16949:2016 uses a similar risk-based model.
  3. ISO 9001:2015 appreciates the shift away from lengthy and costly documentation processes and places less emphasis on monitoring the results and more emphasis on utilizing the proper system. This operates under the principle that a properly implemented and tested process will produce quality products or services. Similarly, IATF 16949:2016 changes emphasis from “documented procedure” and “records” to the more general term, “documented information.”
  4. The focus shift away from products towards processes in ISO 9001:2015 makes it easier for businesses to implement a service model, which has recently become popular. This also places more emphasis on assessing the organizational structure of the business and the context of the process.

Businesses will have until September 2018 to be newly certified under IATF 16949:2016 and ISO 9001:2015. After September 2018, neither the ISO 9001:2008 nor ISO/TS 16949:2009 certification will be valid. Bopp Busch is currently implementing changes to meet certification requirements and recommends all businesses do the same to prevent a costly lapse in ISO 9001 and IATF 16949 certifications.

Responsibility | Quality | Reliability

Tool & Die Making

Tool & Die

Learn More...

E-Coat Painting

E-Coat Paint

Learn More...

General Assembly

General Assembly

Learn More...

Product Engineering

Production Engineering

Learn More...

Bopp Busch General BrochureBopp-Busch...better manufacturing. Click the image to view our online brochure.